Monthly Reading List | August 2013

So long July, it’s been real! For the month of August, I’m doing a lot of new things. I’m starting a new school year, moving to a new location and reading unfamiliar genres that are totally new to me. Also, as you can see from the title, I’m also starting a new feature on my blog: a monthly reading list!

The feature is pretty straight forward. On the first day of very month, I post a list of potential books I want to read during that month. Depending on my mood or how busy my IRL schedule is the list is subject to change, but my personal goal is to at least read something every month and write a review for it. And to spice up the feature I’ll try to give every month a theme.

This month’s theme is *drumrolls*…

Reality vs. Fantasy!!!

The Theory of EverythingMr. Penumbra's 24-Hour BookstoreEleanor & Park

Representing the reality side are, The Theory of Everything by Kari LunaMr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan and Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell! I generally prefer to read young-adult paranormal, but I’m always looking to branch out of my reading comfort zone. The contemporary genre seemed like a good place to start, especially since I started reading The Theory of Everything back in July. Interesting enough, two of these books both have fantastical elements despite being contemporary reads. They are not quite paranormal, but I’m hoping they will be a good segue into the contemporary genre. (Also, the 80’s. Two of these books mention the 80’s. I’ll probably gonna need a Walkman and some mixtapes for this.)

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)White Cat (Curse Workers, #1)

On the side of fantasy, I’ve chosen to read White Cat by Holly Black and reread City of Bones by Cassandra Clare! Both of which are urban fantasies! I’ve been anticipating the upcoming The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones movie ever since it was announced and now I’m happy to say that the movie will be showing in theaters this month! In celebration, I wanted to reacquaint myself with the Shadowhunter world while impatiently counting down the days until I can watch the movie.

What about you?  Do you give yourself a monthly reading list? If not, what books are you currently reading?

3 thoughts on “Monthly Reading List | August 2013

  1. I don’t really have a monthly reading list, I’m too much of a mood reader for that, but I’ll probably be reading Freakboy or Burn for Burn next.
    White Cat!! Loved that book! Hope you enjoy it too! 🙂

    • I stared a monthly reading list because I had too many unread books on my shelf. But, I’m a mood reader too so this might prove difficult. (>_<) I've heard of Freakboy before and it seems interesting. Also, good to know you loved White Cat, hopefully I'll like it 😀

  2. Pingback: Monthly Reading List | September 2013 + Announcement | booksoverflowers

Leave a Reply

