Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon: Goals, Challenges and Updates

The Summer Lovin’ Readathon is a week-long readathon event hosted by seven independent bloggers! (Oh, Chrys!, Tumbling Books, Effortlessly Reading, Love Life Read, Shelf Addiction, Read Sleep Repeat, and Reviewing Wonderland)

Spend the week reading at your own pace, when and how you want too. There will be daily challenges for awesome prizes and opportunities to get points toward the Grand Prize Packs.

As if that weren’t enough – the week will end with a 24-hr marathon readathon! Twitter parties, mini-challenges, games, prizes given EVERY HOUR, and more chances to get points toward the Grand Prize Packs.

Sign-ups will be open through July 6th. I’m in, are you?!

————————-

Put on your shades, break out your sunblock and crack open your books! The Summer Lovin’s Read-a-Thon is finally here! Rather than spamming you with multiple posts, I’ll be writing all my updates and challenges right on this post. If you’re participating feel free to leave any comments or link your Read-a-Thon post. I would love to see what you’re reading this week. Happy reading everyone 😉

Goals

Eyes Like Stars (Théâtre Illuminata, #1)Perchance to Dream (Théâtre Illuminata, #2)So Silver Bright (Théâtre Illuminata, #3)

    • Finish reading the entire Théâtre Illuminata series by Lisa Mantchev. I’m rereading the first two books and will hopefully get to complete the last book by the end of this week.
    • Do all the challenges and participate in the Twitter Party.
    • Find some cool book blogs and comment on them.

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3| Day 4 | Day 5 | Day 6 | Day 7

Monday | 7/1/13

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)Reading: Listening to the Seige and Storm by Leigh Bardugo, narrated by Lauren Fortgang

Update:

  • Currently 2:26:11 in Siege and Storm audio book.
  • On page 21 of Eyes Like Stars.

Comments: I’m not sure if it’s because of the hot weather, my tiredness from going to summer classes or Leigh Bardugo’s writing style, but I found myself getting periodically sleepy while reading Shadow and Bone. Sometimes my eyes would glaze over sentences forcing me to read them over again and again. So over the weekend, I signed up for the 30-day membership trial for audible.com and ordered the Seige and Storm audio book for free. This is my first experience listening to an audio book and so far I’m liking it. Lauren Fortgang has a nice soothing voice and adds some attitude to the voices of characters when necessary. I love lying in the comfort of my bed and listening to the audio with my eyes shut.

“Class Orientation” Participation Post: Hello everyone! My name is Jessylyn and I’m currently writing to you from the hot, humid and sunny California. I’m completely new to the book blogging world and originally started blogging back in May 2013 just so I could participate in a different Read-a-Thon (I have an addiction ^^;) and just kept going from then on. I wasn’t always the avid reader I am today. In fact I was an absolute picky reader (I still am in some ways) and would go for years without reading a book unless it was required school reading. It was only until I randomly picked up Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck during my first year of college and was instantly hooked. I primarily read Young Adult, primarily paranormal romance, but truth be told I would sometimes prefer to read manga or a book :p

Challenge: Teaser Tidbits @ Shelf Addiction | Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (Chapter 5)

I remembered the words from one of the convoluted philosophy text I had been required to read. “Why can a Grisha possess but one amplifier? I will answer this question instead. What is infinite? The universe and the greed of man”.

Tuesday | 7/2/13

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)Eyes Like Stars (Théâtre Illuminata, #1)

Reading: Continued listening to the Siege and Storm audio book and reading Eyes Like Stars

Update:

  • Currently 4:25:56 in Siege and Storm audio book
  • On page 33 of Eyes Like Stars.

Comments: I’m listening to Siege and Storm more and I’m absolutely loving it! Leigh Bardugo really knows how to add unexpected twists in her stories leaving me shocked every time. Out of all the new characters in this book, I adore the privateer! He has a charming, witty and sarcastic personality underneath his deceitful pirate-like facade.

I only got through the first 2 chapters of Eyes Like Stars and enjoyed reading it completely. Lisa Manchev’s writing style has very a whimsical and silly feel to it. Manchev does something really unique and writes her flashbacks in script format (which is fitting for a book set in a theater). The characters that stuck out to me so far are Bertie and the Midsummer Night Faeries–the rambunctious theater trouble makers. Bertie just screams rebellious teenager (In the first chapter, she makes a mess of the stage as she dyes her hair a Cobalt Flame blue) and the faeries are mischievous little devils. They are as thick as thieves and are so much fun to read about. On a side note, I get the feeling that this book is going to be chock full of theater theater references (some that I get and some that I don’t ^^;)

“You’re the One I Want” Participation Post: List your must-have summer reading (the ones you read over and over again) or give us some of your favorite recommended summer reads.

I don’t really read much beach-like summer reads, but I’ll give you a list of books I enjoy enough to read over and over gain.

Tiger's Voyage (The Tiger Saga, #3)Daddy-Long-Legs (Daddy-Long-Legs, #1)Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)

Tiger’s Voyage by Colleen Houck | Tiger’s Voyage is the 3rd book in the Tiger’s Curse series. There’s romance, adventure, yacht rides and dragons–really awesome dragons.

Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster | An orphan girl is sent to college by a mysterious benefactor–the only condition is that she constantly writes him letters. This is a really sweet coming of age story with a cute romance at then end.

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare | Clockwork Princess is the final book in the Infernal Devices Trilogy. This trilogy puts me through a roller-coaster of emotions. I would reread all 3 books if I wanted to, but Clockwork Princess is my favorite.

Wednesday | 7/3/13

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)Eyes Like Stars (Théâtre Illuminata, #1)Reading: Siege and Storm audio book and Eyes Like Stars

Update: 

  • Currently 7:39:06 in Siege and Storm audio book.
  • On Page 38 in Eyes Like Stars.

Comments: Still loving both books so far. Just wish I had more time to read today. I also won a giveaway today!

Challenge: Page 99 Test @Reviewing Wonderland|Pick a book you have not yet read, turn to page 99 and read that page. Then you give a synopsis of that page and tell us if, based only on that page, would you want to read this book?

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour BookstoreMr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Book Store by Robin Sloan

Published October 2nd 2012 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Genre | Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Science Fiction

Goodreads | Amazon

The Great Recession has shuffled Clay Jannon out of his life as a San Francisco Web-design drone—and serendipity, sheer curiosity, and the ability to climb a ladder like a monkey has landed him a new gig working the night shift at Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. But after just a few days on the job, Clay begins to realize that this store is even more curious than the name suggests. There are only a few customers, but they come in repeatedly and never seem to actually buy anything, instead “checking out” impossibly obscure volumes from strange corners of the store, all according to some elaborate, long-standing arrangement with the gnomic Mr. Penumbra. The store must be a front for something larger, Clay concludes, and soon he’s embarked on a complex analysis of the customers’ behavior and roped his friends into helping to figure out just what’s going on. But once they bring their findings to Mr. Penumbra, it turns out the secrets extend far outside the walls of the bookstore. (Courtesy of Goodreads)

Page 99 Synopsis: Clay shows up to work and is livid to find that the bookstore is closed. Apparently Mr. Penumbra hadn’t bothered to give him the memo. Clay’s pissed, but his anger quickly dispersed into worry. Mr. Penumbra’s is an old man after all. He could have had a heart attack–or even died. Unable to work, Clay does what any normal person would do: buy Fritos at a liquor store, then wait by the curb for 20 minutes. Eventually someone named Ms. Lapin glides by. Clay hides behind a trash can and examines the fear on Ms. Lapin’s face. Ms. Lapin leaves the storefront (since it’s closed) and Clay pursues her.

Comments: Based on page 99, I would read this book. I like Robin Sloan’s writing style. Despite the tedium of the scene above, I was interested in Clay’s thoughts and actions. Clay is portrayed as an everyday Joe, someone I could be if I were in his position. Seriously, I would be pissed too if I was locked out of work without some forewarning. The only difference between Clay and I is that I would have opted for some Cheddar Ruffles.

Thursday | 7/4/13

Eyes Like Stars (Théâtre Illuminata, #1)

Reading: Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev

Update: 

  • Finished Seige and Storm audiobook
  • On page 54 of Eyes Like Stars

Comment: Today, I spent the better half of my morning listening to the rest of the my Siege and Storm audio book and completed it sometime in the afternoon. Wow, just wow! The Grisha trilogy is probably my current favorite YA series of the year! The transition Alina makes from an unknown mapmaker in the First Army to attempting to protect Ravka is quite a journey. I tried to reading a little more of Eyes of Stars, I’m liking it so far, but my brain is still stuck in the Grishaverse of Siege and Storm. I don’t want to leave Alina, Mal and the charming privateer just yet.

“Tears On My Pillow” Participation Post: Share a quote from your current read or tell us about a book that really pulled on your heart strings. What was it about that book/quote that made you cry?

I was scavenging about my bookshelf looking to find a particular book that really tugged by heart strings and had released a flood of emotions while I read it. After 30 minutes of searching, tossing potential books on my bed, I still had a heap of books to choose from. It’s not that any of the books I had chosen were particularly sad, but I had an emotional connection to them.

I could the recall moments where my face was stricken with tears after reading a death scene of a beloved character of mine. Or the moments where my heart would sink with sadness when true friends had to be separated.  I want to see characters overcome their demons, triumphant and happy in the end, but that doesn’t always happen. For books I really love, I get attached to them. So of course I’m going to shed a tear or more.

Friday | 7/5/13

“Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin On” Participation Post: 

Goodness! How time flies! Can you believe we made it to Friday? For all of you who have persisted and stuck to your Read-a-Thon goals you deserve a pat on the back. I wish I could give you all something special for all your hard work, but instead I offer some congratulatory cookies:As for me, the Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon has been very fun for the most part. I’ve finished one book so far and completely loved it! I feel like I’m still stuck in the world of the previous book I read, so I’m struggling a little with the other series I’m reading. I’ve mentioned before that I’m new to book blogging, so the participation posts and challenges really helped me access my learning curve for blogging.I really had to make time and put extra thought into my posts and most of the time they I’m not satisfied with them. Trying to come up with something creative is difficult, but I hope it’s something I can improve with time. I also  enjoyed sifting through Read-a-Thon updates and challenge post and found some amazing blogs in the process. Seriously, you guys are so creative with your posts and challenges.

For the next few days my hope is to finish my current read and to join the Twitter party this Saturday.

Challenge: Cover Title Scramble @ Love.Life.Read

Guidelines

  • Pick 5 from each month and unscramble them. Each grouping of letters is one word (and I have kept the words in order)
  • Put the answers in your blog post
  • Submit your answers below using the linky form

Are you brave enough to crack the codes? Without further ado, here at the titles:

May Titles:

1) The 5th Wave
2) eht   scetrsahnen
3) ginwre
4) Just One Kiss
5) Any Dutchess Will Do
6) It Had to Be You
7) Lost and Found
8) The Boleyn King
9) Once Upon a Prince

June Titles:

1) The Moon and More
2) Siege and Storm
3) Star Cursed
4) Sweet Salt Air
5) het   crenwmeo
6) Forever Too Far
7) het  miatng   fo  deyrr  uanacvhga
8) Two of a Kind
9)  One Sweet Ride
10) What the Duke Desires
11) kifagn   ti

July Titles:

1) If the Shoe Fits
2) The Edge of Never
3) rfits  gisht   a   veonl
4) True Love
5) Three Little Words
6) eht   gniht  si  velia
7) Perfect Fling
8) Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger
9) Home to Whiskey Creek

August Titles:
1) Fall of Five
2) wrnco    fo    gdminhit
3) The Shade of the Moon
4)Rose Harbor in Bloom
5) The Hero
6) Big Sky Wedding
7) yatacasw  veoc  a  ltehrse  yab   venlo
8)  siht   rilg   a   veonl
9) mtetapinto
Phew! Some are these are challenging. How far did you get?

Saturday | 7/6/13

“Hound Dogs” Participation Post: List those bad boys that make your heart go pitter patter.

This is a tough choice because I’m not all that interested in “bad boys”. In the end I decided to go with one of my favorite characters of all time: Magnus Bane from The Mortal Instruments series. I wouldn’t classify him as a “bad boy” per se, but this warlock is pretty wild and adventurous which I think are characteristics of a “bad boy”.

Godfrey Gao is cast as Magnus Bane for the upcoming The Mortal Instruments: City of Bone movie and I think he’s perfect for the role. (Look at that picture! That’s definitely how I imagine Magnus with Chairman Meow!) I’m excited to see how he will portray his character in the movies.

Sunday | 7/7/13

“Alma Mater” Participation Post:You are graduating today–list your accomplishments big and small for the week. Hop around and congratulate all of your friends on their accomplishments.

  • I managed to finish reading ONE book this entire week (and it wasn’t even a Read-a-Thon goal)
  • Met some cool book blogs and commented on them
  • Got my photography project ready to go for my critique on Monday.
  • 60% done with my Clockwork Angel plaster sculpture.
  • Finished watching all episodes of the Chihayafuru 2 anime.

I’m not sure if you would call any of these accomplishments, but I felt productive this week :p

7 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’ Read-a-Thon: Goals, Challenges and Updates

  1. Good luck in the readathon! I’ve always eyed that series because of the beautiful covers, so I’m interested to see your thoughts. Sorry to hear that you had a hard time with Shadow and Bone, but glad the audiobook for Siege and Storm is working out! I’ve never tried an audiobook, so I’m not sure how that’d go for me. 😛

    • Thanks! I wouldn’t say I has such a a hard time with Shadow and Bone. I just sometimes had to make a choice of continue reading or taking a nap (reading won out in the end). Listening to audio book is such a new experience for me. I’m liking it, but I miss the feel of a book in hand at times.

  2. Hope you’re having fun with the read-a-thon! I need to catch up on Leigh Bardugo’s books.

    Also- you won one of my giveaways! Check your email- I need some info to send your prize 🙂

  3. Pingback: Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev | booksoverflowers

Leave a Reply

