Bout of Books 7.0 Wrap-Up Conclusion!

Book Count: 2

Total Pages Read: 493

Book Goals & Finished Books (crossed out)

  1. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  2. A Caribbean Mystery by Agatha Christie
  3. Who Done It? conducted by Jon Scieszka
  4. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami, translated by Jay Rubin (84 pages read)
  5. The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

Final Thoughts

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami, translated by Jay Rubin

I’ll be honest and say I really don’t know how I feel about Norwegian Wood. The book itself is set in Tokyo, Japan during the late 1960s–a period I’m not familiar with at all–and centers on a college boy named Toru Wantanabe. We are lead through Toru’s life and his story of love and love loss. I’m only 84 pages in and I can already tell that this book is very introspective, bittersweet contemporary read.

This really is a genre that is out of my comfort zone, and while it’s not a bad read so far, it’s really taking a while for me to really grasp the beauty of this story. However, after I finish this book I’m really looking forward to watching the movie adaption and see how it compares to the book.

All in all, I think this read-a-thon just fell on a really bad week for me. In addition to this read-a-thon, I had to deal with final class lectures and studying for final exams. The good news is that I finished at least one unread book on my shelf and found this exciting book event to participate in the next time around (hopefully I won’t be as busy at that time).

Happy reading everyone! I hope this read-a-thon is as fun for you as it was for me.

Leave a Reply

