BoB 7.0 Monday Update!

Updates

  • Finished The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket
  • Read up to page 60 of And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  • Participated in the Book Spine Poem Challenge by Escape Through the Pages (Picture Below)
    Image

    White Cat
    With Eyes Like Stars
    The Fairest Behemoth
    With a Tiger’s Curse
    And a Tiger’s Destiny

Book Count: 1

Goals for Tomorrow

  • Finish up And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  • Start another book

Final Thoughts

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

Reading The Bad Beginning was absolute nostalgia! Back when I was in elementary school required reading was a must. On certain days, we were led into our school’s little library and were allowed to pick a selection of books. I can remember my little self gazing up at the high bookshelves and feeling a daunting sensation as I passed over, what seemed like large books at the time, Harry Potter or the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. Entranced by the lovely illustrations and slim size, I finally picked up my first Lemony Snicket book and absolutely loved it!

But enough with the flashback. Reacquainting myself with Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire was a pleasure. The Baudelaire children are really very resourceful and contain many characteristics of a good role model for children. I couldn’t help by sympathize and root for them along the way.

I love how Lemony Snicket’s quirky writing engages the reader by breaking the fourth wall and actually addresses the reader–makes reading more interesting.

One thing I did notice about this book was the very obvious foreshadowing that I didn’t pick up as a child. Seriously, it was right in front of my face. I don’t know what my child-self was thinking

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Whodunnit mysteries are definitely one of  my favorite types of mysteries out there and, being the Queen of Mystery, an Agatha Christie book is a must!

Another reason I wanted to read this particular book is because one of my favorite sound novel/anime/manga follows the same scheme as And Then There Were None–a group of people trapped on an island, a mysterious murder in control, none left to live!–it all sounds very intriguing.

As interesting as this book is, one trouble I had with this book was figuring out who was who. There are 10 people on Soldier Island, excluding the Unknown murderer, and which is a decently large cast of characters. Characters who I have little connection with at this point, which makes them a little less memorable for me

One of the fun things about Whodunnit mysteries is that, as the reader, you can play the role of detective. Despite having my thinking cap on, lots of little detail in this book still elude me. New facts and details in this mystery progressively pop up as I read and when I look back at previous pages I end up smacking my forehead as if I should have known that fact all along.

So far, I’m only up to the point of the first murder…and things will only get more interesting from here…

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

